"With timeBro, time recording becomes a minor matter."

Why the studio vlow studio relies on automatic time tracking - Interview with Managing Director Katharina Willner

Hi Katharina. What is your job at vlow studio - and what kind of company are you?

Katharina: I'm a designer specializing in UI/UX, branding and illustration. We are mostly in the digital world with vlow studio, as a motion and design studio. Animations, 3D, websites and web applications, contemporary and modular branding, illustrations and the current zeitgeist, these are our topics. That's what we burn for.

Why are exact times important to you?

Katharina: Project hours give us a framework in all the creative work that ensures we don't get too caught up in our passion and are profitable. The longer we record our hours, the better we can estimate future projects more realistically and give our clients a pretty accurate orientation. The references also save a tremendous amount of time when preparing quotations and cost estimates. This makes us happy, but of course also our customers. In addition, there are always projects that are billed on an hourly basis.

What problem did you have with time tracking?

Katharina: Once you're in the flow at work, you don't remember to write down every hour. The time recording becomes increasingly inaccurate, because a lot of things that are done in between are lost or not recorded at all. As a result, our hours didn't line up with our calculations and we couldn't rely on them. So we looked for an automatic tracking tool. At the time, it was another provider. It worked well, but we had to create all our projects twice, once in our project management and billing tool MOCO and again in the time tracking tool. This was not optimal, and there was no direct link between the project and the recorded times.

Katharina Willner, Managing Director, vlow.studio
The longer we record our hours, the better we can estimate future projects.
Katharina Willner, Managing Director, vlow.studio

How was timeBro able to solve the problem?

Katharina: Through the interface to MOCO, we can integrate our projects, including all bid items, directly into timeBro with just one click. The time recording works smoothly. Even break times are recognized accurately. A second click later, timeBro transfers our times directly into the project, and we can easily see if our forecasts are correct.

What doubts did you have before trying timeBro?

Katharina: Of course, you always hesitate a bit before changing your processes and switching tools, but the huge time savings and smooth communication with our billing and project management tool convinced us pretty quickly.

If a friend asked you if they should try timeBro - what would you tell them?

Katharina: With timeBro time tracking becomes a trivial matter. Even if it gets stressful, and you forget to assign the hours, it's super easy to track the hours and add them up-to-the-minute. The integration of other programs makes timeBro even more powerful and takes everything to another level. It is also very intuitive to use.

No sign up required – just click through the demo
Katharina Willner, Managing Director, vlow.studio
The integration of other programs makes timeBro even more powerful and takes everything to another level.
Katharina Willner, Managing Director, vlow.studio

Try it for free. You lose nothing. Especially not time.

You do not need to provide any payment information. The trial does not turn into a subscription. Just have a look at our tracking.

Available for
macOS
Available for
Windows

"Mit timeBro wird Zeiterfassung zu einer Nebensache"

Warum das Studio vlow studio auf automatische Zeiterfassung setzt – Interview mit Geschäftsführerin Katharina Willner

Hi Katharina. Was ist dein Job bei vlow studio – und was seid ihr für eine Firma?

Katharina: Ich bin Designerin mit den Schwerpunkten UI/UX, Branding und Illustration. Wir sind mit vlow studio, als Motion und Design Studio, meist in der digitalen Welt unterwegs. Animationen, 3D, Webseiten und Webapplikationen, zeitgemäßes und modulares Branding, Illustrationen und der aktuelle Zeitgeist, das sind unsere Themen. Dafür brennen wir.

Warum sind genaue Zeiten für euch wichtig?

Katharina: Projektzeiten geben uns in der ganzen kreativen Arbeit einen Rahmen, der sicherstellt, dass wir nicht zu sehr unserer Leidenschaft verfallen und rentabel sind. Je länger wir unsere Stunden erfassen, desto besser können wir zukünftige Projekte realistischer einschätzen und unseren Kunden eine ziemlich genaue Orientierung geben. Auch bei der Angebots- und Kostenvoranschlag-Erstellung spart man durch die Referenzen enorm viel Zeit. Das freut uns, aber natürlich auch unsere Kunden. Zudem gibt es auch immer wieder Projekte die stundenbasiert abgerechnet werden.

Welches Problem hattet ihr bei der Zeiterfassung?

Katharina: Wenn man einmal im Flow ist bei der Arbeit, denkt man nicht mehr daran jede Stunde genau zu notieren. Die Zeiterfassung wird zunehmend ungenau, da vieles, das man zwischendurch erledigt, untergeht oder erst gar nicht notiert wird. Das hatte zur Folge, dass sich unsere Stunden nicht mit den Kalkulationen deckten und wir uns nicht darauf verlassen konnten. Also suchten wir ein automatisches Tracking Tool. Damals noch ein anderer Anbieter. Das funktionierte gut, aber wir mussten alle unsere Projekte doppelt anlegen, einmal in unserem Projektmanagement- und Abrechnungstool MOCO und noch einmal in dem Zeiterfassungstool. Das war nicht optimal und es gab keine direkte Verbindung zwischen dem Projekt und den erfassten Zeiten.

Katharina Willner, Geschäftsführerin, vlow.studio
Je länger wir unsere Stunden erfassen, desto besser können wir zukünftige Projekte einschätzen.
Katharina Willner, Geschäftsführerin, vlow.studio

Inwiefern konnte timeBro das Problem lösen?

Katharina: Durch die Schnittstelle zu MOCO können wir unsere Projekte inklusive aller Angebotsposten mit nur einem Klick unmittelbar in timeBro integrieren. Die Zeiterfassung funktioniert reibungslos. Sogar Pausenzeiten werden treffend erkannt. Einen zweiten Klick später überträgt timeBro unsere Zeiten direkt in das Projekt und wir können ohne weiteres sehen, ob unsere Prognosen richtig liegen.

Welche Zweifel hattet ihr, bevor ihr timeBro ausprobiert habt?

Katharina: Natürlich zögert man immer ein wenig bevor man seine Prozesse verändert und seine Tools wechselt, aber die enorme Zeitersparnis und reibungslose Kommunikation mit unserem Abrechnungs- und Projektmanagement-Tool haben uns ziemlich schnell überzeugt.

Wenn ein Freund dich fragen würde, ob er timeBro ausprobieren soll – was würdest du ihm sagen?

Katharina: Mit timeBro wird Zeiterfassung zu einer Nebensache. Selbst wenn es mal stressig wird und man vergisst die Stunden zuzuordnen, ist es super einfach die Stunden nachzuvollziehen und minutengenau nachzutragen. Die Integration von anderen Programmen macht timeBro zudem noch viel mächtiger und hebt alles noch einmal auf ein anderes Niveau. Zudem ist es sehr intuitiv zu bedienen.

Keine Registrierung erforderlich – einfach durchklicken
Katharina Willner, Geschäftsführerin, vlow.studio
Die Integration von anderen Programmen macht timeBro noch viel mächtiger und hebt alles noch einmal auf ein anderes Niveau.
Katharina Willner, Geschäftsführerin, vlow.studio

Jetzt kostenlos testen. Du verlierst nichts dabei. Vor allem keine Zeit.

Du musst keine Zahlungsdaten angeben. Die Testphase wandelt sich nicht in ein Abo um. Überzeug dich einfach selbst von unserem Tracking.

Available for
macOS
Available for
Windows